National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS) and Collaborative Awards for Teaching Excellence (CATE)

Professor Hisham Khalil of the Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry was awarded a National Teaching Fellowship in 2017.

National Teaching Fellowship Scheme

This award recognises and celebrates individuals who make an outstanding impact on the student learning experience, providing the means to develop a proactive community of National Teaching Fellows. Awards are made in recognition of nominees' individual excellence and outstanding impact on student learning; their contribution to raising the profile of excellence in teaching and learning through their work with colleagues and the wider academic community; as well as their commitment to their own professional development.

Collaborative Awards for Teaching Excellence

This national award celebrates collaborative excellence in teaching and learning. Awards are made in recognition of creative and innovative teamwork which has led to positive changes at discipline/institutional level and possibly beyond. Evidence of direct involvement of students with the team is required as well as dissemination and impact.

Both awards are co-ordinated by AdvanceHE, raising the profile of learning and teaching in universities in the UK.

Details of the latest information can be found by visiting the Higher Education Academy (HEA) website:


All staff from UK Higher Education Institutions (HEIs) are eligible for the Schemes. This includes HE in FE and alternative providers. Staff are nominated by their HEI. This includes full-time, part-time, and non-permanent staff. Further information can be found in the relevant awards guidelines. For NTFS, eligible institutions are invited to nominate up to three individual members of staff who clearly demonstrate excellence in teaching and/or supporting the HE learning experience of students. For CATE, eligible institutions are invited to nominate one team who can best demonstrate innovation, positive impact, and student collaboration.

Internal application process

At the beginning of the academic year we invite colleagues to come forward but we do continue our efforts throughout the year to identify suitable candidates. We meet with colleagues informally, where the details of the schemes are discussed, questions are answered, suitability and course of action are determined. If you can identify a colleague or a team who may be suitable or you wish to be considered yourself, please contact We will make contact to organise a meeting.

Once applicants have developed their core documents, Educational Development will provide one full set of feedback. We cannot guarantee that every team/colleague who works on an application will be chosen as one of our nominees. An internal selection panel will decide who goes forward based on their assessment of the submitted applications against the NTFS or CATE selection criteria.

For any further questions, please email

National Teaching Fellows at University of Plymouth (UoP)

  • 2017: Professor Hisham Khalil
  • 2016: Professor Hilary Neve, Dr Jennie Winter
  • 2015: Professor Debby Cotton
  • 2014: Professor Stephen Sterling
  • 2013: Adam Benjamin*, Professor Neil Witt
  • 2012: Dr Suanne Gibson, Dr Paul Hewson*, Professor John Davies**
  • 2010: Professor Simon Belt, Professor Paul Bradley*, Dr Steve Gaskin**
  • 2009: Dr Karen Gresty
  • 2008: Avril Butler (now Bellinger)*, Dr Chris Ricketts*
  • 2006: Dr Helen King*
  • 2005: Dr John Hilsdon*
  • 2004: Paul Murray*, Judith Waterfield*, Priska Schoenborn
  • 2003: Professor John McLachlan*
  • 2002: Professor Brian Chalkley*, Professor Pauline Kneale**
  • 2001: Dr Leslie Jervis*
  • 2000: Professor Susan Lea*

*no longer in UoP employment 
**at different HEI at time of award