Fireworks on Plymouth Hoe

Institutional awards

Winning a Times Higher Education Award
The University’s work to combine first-rate dental training with outstanding community care saw it win the Outstanding Contribution to the Local Community category at the Times Higher Education Awards 2023.
Earning plaudits at the Green Gown Awards
The University won the Reporting with Influence award, and was also Highly Commended in the 2030 Climate Action category, both accolades acknowledging the long held commitment to carbon reduction.
Award shortlisting for sustainability leadership
The University was shortlisted in the Public Sector Local Leadership category of the Regen Green Energy Awards 2023.
Silver awards for gender equality
The School of Health Professions and the School of Nursing and Midwifery each achieved a silver Athena Swan Award.
Drake’s Place retains Green Flag Award
The University retained the Green Flag Award for Drake’s Place Gardens and Reservoir. First presented in 2015, the accolade recognises ongoing work to ensure the area remains a well-managed park and green space.
King’s Award for Enterprise
Ultramed, a digital health company that received support from the Acceleration Through Innovation programme, earned a King’s Award for Enterprise in recognition of its excellence in medical innovation.
CobBauge Building earns sustainable construction award
The CobBauge Building earned Best Commercial Sustainable Construction project at the Plymouth City Council Building Control LABC awards.
Accolade for medical innovation
An ongoing partnership between the Cornwall Intellectual Disability Equitable Research group and med-tech start-up Neuronostics earned the Partnership with Academia category at the Medilink UK Healthcare Business Awards.
Medilink South West Awards
Spin-out company Molendotech Ltd won the Innovation category at the Medilink South West Awards.
THE award win 2023 square
Green Gown award win 23
Green flag awards
Cobbauge building square

Honorary degrees 2023

The honorary degrees and fellowships awarded in 2023 were:
  • Sir Roger Alexander Deakins CBE – Doctor of Arts
  • Colin Irwin John Hamilton Drummond OBE DL – Doctor of Business
  • Dame Suzi Leather DBE MBE DL – Doctor of Health
  • Professor Shijun Liao – Doctor of Engineering
  • Sir Michael Morpurgo OBE FRSL FKC – Doctor of Letters
  • Philip Jonathan Clifford Mould OBE – Doctor of Arts
  • Captain Mohd Salleh Ahmad Sarwan – Honorary Fellow
  • Dame Judith Weir CBE – Doctor of Music
  • Professor Sir Duncan John Wingham Kt PhD – Doctor of Science