Research & Innovation research funding courses

Research funding skills

Research and Innovation provides a range of training to help you find funding sources and write successful applications.

In addition to the seven central funding courses listed below, we are also available to work with Schools, Institutes and Faculties to provide bespoke training. Examples of bespoke courses that we can deliver include:

  • application review sessions, e.g. to develop applications before submission or consider unsuccessful applications and how they can be improved
  • funder or programme specific sessions, e.g. Industrial Strategy Challenge Fund, Global Challenges Research Fund
  • introduction to research funding for early career researchers.
We can also run tailored versions of any of the central training sessions below at School, Institute or Faculty events.

The duration of all of the courses listed below will be one hour.

How to book

Bookings for 2020/21 courses can be made through Employee Self Service.  Login with your user name and password and click on Learning and Development and then search courses by typing the key words research support to list all of the 2020/21 Research & Innovation research funding courses.

Slides from all events can be found here (internal access only). 

If you have any queries or need help with your application, please email our team inbox at researchadvice@plymouth.ac.uk.


1. Overview of Research & Innovation services

This session provides an introduction to the different services provided by R&I including:

  • Research application support and costing
  • Commercial research and consultancy through UoPEL
  • Knowledge Transfer Partnerships (KTP)
  • Guidance on research impact 
  • Research ethics
  • Intellectual property and research commercialisation advice
  • Business incubation and innovation services 
  • Enterprise Solutions.
Dates: 
  • 14.00 Tuesday 13 October 2020
  • 10.00 Thursday 26 November 2020
  • 10.00 Thursday 14 January 2021
  • 14:00 Thursday 11 March 2021
  • 10:00 Thursday 22 April 2021
  • 14:00 Tuesday 18 May 2021

Slides from the session can be found here (internal access only).

2. How to write a successful research application

Learn to prepare your research application in a way that maximises its chances of success.

Dates:

  • 10.00 Thursday 5 November 2020
  • 10.00 Tuesday 19 January 2021
  • 14.00 Tuesday 2 March 2021

Slides from the session can be found here (internal access only).

3. How do funders review and assess funding applications?

This course provides an insight into funding review processes and how funding decisions are made.

Dates:

  • 10.00 Thursday 12 November 2020
  • 10.00 Tuesday 26 January 2021
  • 14:00 Tuesday 9 March 2021

Slides from the session can be found here (internal access only).


4. Research Professional

Interactive sessions to set up your personal alerts for new and forthcoming funding opportunities to increase your chances of early grant capture.

Dates:

  • 10.00 Thursday 15 October 2020
  • 14.00 Tuesday 17 November 2020
  • 10.00 Thursday 3 December 2020
  • 10:00 Thursday 11 February 2021
  • 10:00 Thursday 18 March 2021
  • 10:00 Tuesday 20 April 2021
  • 14:00 Thursday 13 May 2021

Slides from the session can be found here (internal access only).

5. Introduction to research application finances

How to prepare costs for your research funding application.

Dates:

  • 14.00 Tuesday 20 October 2020
  • 10.00 Thursday 17 December 2020
  • 14.00 Tuesday 2 February 2021
  • 10.00 Thursday 20 May 2021

Slides from the session can be found here (internal access only).

6. Funding opportunities for early career researchers - arts, humanities & social science disciplines

This session provides practical help for ECRs in the arts, humanities & social science disciplines to find funding opportunities and includes a short overview about how to write a successful application.

Dates:

  • 14.00 Tuesday 8 December 2020 

7. Funding opportunities for early career researchers - science and health related disciplines

This session provides practical help for ECRs in the science and health disciplines to find funding opportunities and includes a short overview about how to write a successful application.

Dates:

  • 14.00 Thursday 10 December 2020

UKRO Annual Visit

In addition to our regular training sessions we host an annual visit from the UK Research Office in Brussels on all aspects of EU research funding. 

The 2020 visit took place on Wednesday 26 February 2020.

For full details of the 2019 event held on 5 February, please see the event page.