International Environmental Arts Research Network

The aim of the Network is to foster the development of an online forum for researchers to share ideas, methodologies and concerns within environmental arts practice in order to critically engage and reflect upon the theme of Futures in response to environmental concerns and climate change. Conversations and discussions may result in future projects, such as exhibitions, publications and jointly-funded research bids. The network welcomes postgraduate students.

Artistic research practice has a unique capacity to offer crucial insights informing our understanding of environmental issues in the Anthropocene. The reflexivity inherent in arts research along with an emphasis on expressive communication as outcome offers significant scope for bringing crucial yet complex relationships between vulnerable species, human action and climate change to wider appreciation among general audiences and key stakeholders. We would like to expand on and question how art can contribute to understanding contemporary environmental issues and challenges.

In 2020/21, we will organise a series of symposia to bring our researchers and postgraduate students together to share common research interests.

Upcoming events

 

Symposium I: International Environmental Arts Research Network

25 November 2020

8.00 am – 11.00 am (UK)            9.00 am – 12.00 noon (Sweden)                 9.00 pm – 12.00 midnight (New Zealand)

Online via Zoom – Book via EventBrite

Symposium is initiated, organized and hosted by:

University of Plymouth, UK 

Massey University, Wellington, New Zealand

HDK/Valand, Gothenburg University, Sweden

Johanna Mechen, video still from Sealing Ground (2020)

Speakers

Laura Hopes (University of Plymouth), Speedwell

Johanna Mechen (Massey University, Wellington, NZ), Sealing Ground

Kevin Miles (Massey University, Wellington, NZ), Sailing Close to the Wind

Find out more about the speakers


Book a place

Kevin Miles, Genoa #2 (2020), unique silver gelatin photogram, 45 x 60cm

 

More upcoming research events

Symposium II

Wednesday 21 April 2021 (tbc)

9.00–12.00 (UK)

10.00–13.00 (Sweden)

20.00 – 23.00 (New Zealand)