Under the University’s Instrument and Articles of Government, the Senate is the most senior academic decision-making body of the institution responsible for:

  • the strategic oversight of the University’s activities in relation to teaching, learning and assessment; research; and any other academic matters impacting on the student experience
  • providing assurance to the Board of Governors in relation to areas of academic governance, and
  • advising on the academic implications of significant University developments.

Senate’s Terms of Reference (University login required) set out in more detail its powers.

There are a maximum of 71 members of Senate (University login required) comprising members of the Executive team, Heads of School, academic staff and students. The majority of members are elected. 

Senate meets at least three times per year and its Chair is the Vice-Chancellor. After each meeting, Senate reports to the Board of Governors. 

The meeting dates for 2016/17 are:

  • 19 October 2016
  • 22 February 2017
  • 14 June 2017.

Senate operates a number of Committees which include:

  • University Teaching, Learning and Quality Committee
  • Research and Innovation Committee
  • Academic Development and Partnerships Committee
  • Student Life Committee
  • Honorary Awards Committee (joint with the Board of Governors).