Periplum poetry

Based out of the University of Plymouth’s English and Creative Writing Department, Periplum aims to publish and promote a selectively slim sample of some of the best poetry being written today. 

Our pamphlets, broadsides, and books are printed with care for design and include authors Heather Phillipson, Eiléan Ní Chuilleanáin, Mark Ford, and Peter Gizzi. 

We alternate between annual book and pamphlet award competitions, and our inaugural was won by Christopher DeWeese for The Confessions (2017)

Watch our digital videos of interviews with some of our authors by Periplum Series Editor, Anthony Caleshu.

Edward Clarke: Eighteen Psalms

From the Preface to Eighteen Psalms:

These poems are not translations or versifications. They are conversations with, and hesitations about, these ancient texts: sometimes ‘imitations as unruly as | My sons’, as I complain in my unruly imitation of Psalm 80. In the spirit of Psalm 1, they are always transplantations. 

Edward Clarke is the author of two books of criticism: The Vagabond Spirit of Poetry, and The Later Affluence of W.B. Yeats and Wallace Stevens. He is an editor of the web-zine Cassandra Voices. 

Eighteen Psalms by Edward Clarke (published September 2018). Listen to ‘Clarke’s Psalter’ on BBC Radio 4.
Purchase 18 Psalms by Edward Clarke (£5.00).

Heather Phillipson: ‘more flinching’

The complete 84 page text

Heather Phillipson works across video, sculpture, drawing, music, text and live events. Forthcoming projects include the Fourth Plinth in Trafalgar Square in 2020, and significant solo shows at BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art and Art on the Underground’s flagship site at Gloucester Road station in 2018. She was Artist in Residence at the Drawing Room London in 2017 and received the Film London Jarman Award 2016. Recent solo exhibitions include: Whitechapel Gallery London, Images Festival Toronto, Frieze Projects New York and the 32nd Sao Paolo Biennale (all 2016). Schirn Frankfurt, the 14th Istanbul Biennial, Performa New York, Sheffield Doc/Fest (with Serpentine Galleries), and Opening Times ( (all 2015). Phillipson has published three collections of poetry: a pamphlet with Faber & Faber in 2009; NOT AN ESSAY (Penned in the Margins, 2012); and Instant-flex 718 (Bloodaxe, 2013), which was shortlisted for the 2013 Fenton Aldeburgh First Collection Prize and the Michael Murphy Memorial Prize. She was named a Next Generation Poet in 2014 and is a regular contributor to ArtReview magazine.

Purchase Periplum Poetry - more flinching by Heather Phillipson (£5.00 + postage)

Eiléan Ní Chuilleanáin

In 2016, Eiléan Ní Chuilleanáin was appointed to be the seventh Ireland Professor of Poetry. Born in Cork, she is the author of numerous poetry collections, including Acts and Monuments (1966), which won the Patrick Kavanagh Award; The Magdalene Sermon (1989); The Girl Who Married a Reindeer (2001); Selected Poems (2009); and The Sun-fish (2010), which won the International Griffin Poetry Prize.

Her most recent volume, The Boys of Bluehill (2015), was shortlisted for the Forward Prize for Best Collection. She translated two books by the Romanian poet Ileana Malancioiu, After the Raising of Lazarus (2005) and The Legend of the Walled-Up Wife (2012), as well as Nuala Ní Dhomhnaill’s The Water Horse (2001, co-translated with Medbh McGuckian).

(Photograph by Patrick Redmond, courtesy of Wake Forest University Press)

An interview with Mark Ford

On the occasion of his reading at the University of Plymouth and the publication of his Periplum pamphlet, Nairobi, 1963.

In conversation with David Herd

An annotated reading of his poem 'Feedback', in nine sections, on the occasion of his visit to Plymouth University for the conference, Contemporary Poetry: Thinking and Feeling.

Periplum poetry pamphlet competition 2018

The shortlisted entries for this year's competition are as follows:

  • Pnina Shinebourne — Exposure
  • Iona May — O to have The World
  • Jane Lovell — This Tilting Earth
  • Jake Reynolds — The Breathing World
  • Mara Adamitz Scrupe — Van Leeuwenhoek’s Dream of a Microscopic World
  • Mara Adamitz Scrupe — In The Atavistic Hour
  • Giles Goodland — Season Tickets
  • Liz Adams — White on White
  • Tom Pescatore — Who Owns these Trees?

Giles Goodland — Season Tickets 

Winner of the Periplum poetry pamphlet competition 2018