ASTI staff programme

Academic Support, Technology & Innovation (ASTI) run a broad range of sessions which support University of Plymouth initiatives and enhance teaching with technology. These sessions can provide you with the digital skills and confidence. See our course listing below or our tagged events.

Please note that if courses are fully booked some dates below may not show up on the ESS when trying to book your place. 

Office 365

Office 365: Setting up a University of Plymouth site

Thu 05/07/2018 9:30–12:00

Thu 19/07/2018 13:30–16:00

Wed 01/08/2018 9:30–12:00

Mon 20/08/2018 13:30–16:00

Office 365: Using a University of Plymouth site

Thu 09/07/2018 10:00–12:00

Thu 09/08/2018 10:00–12:00

Working with permissions in Office 365 Sites

Wed 11/07/2018  9:30–12.00

Wed 18/07/2018  13:30–16:00

Tues 07/08/2018  9:30–12:00

Wed 22/08/2018  13:30–16:00

Office 365: Next steps with team sites

Mon 17/07/2018 13:30–16:00

Mon 30/07/2018 13:30–16:00

Thu 16/08/2018 9:30–12:00

Fri 31/08/2018 9:30–12:00

Office 365: Working with Skype for Business

Numerous courses are available, please follow the link above to book a place 

Thu 26/07/2018 10:00–12:00

Wed 29/08/2018 14:00–16:00

Office 365: Introduction to OneDrive for Business

Numerous courses are available, please follow the link above to book a place.

Tue 31/07/2018 10:00–12:00

Tue 14/08/2018 14:00–16:00

Thu 30/08/2018 10:00–12:00

Reviewing & Tracking Changes with Microsoft Office

No dates are currently scheduled, Please register your interest following the link above.

General

IT services for new staff

Mon 06/08/2018 10:00–12:00

Tue 04/09/2018 10:00 - 12:00

Thu 11/10/2018 10:00 - 12:00

Tue 06/11/2018 10:00 - 12:00

Thu 06/12/2018 10:00 - 12:00


Microsoft Office 2010 - online

The following courses are available online at: http://lynda.plymouth.ac.uk/

Login with your university account

Word 2010

Essential training

Mail merge

Excel 2010

Essential training

Managing and analysing data

Charts in depth

Pivot tables in depth

PowerPoint 2010

Essential training

Up and running with PowerPoint 2010

Audio and video in depth

University Website CMS

Creating and publishing content

Wed 04/07/2018 13:00–15:00

Thu 26/07/2018 14:00–16:00

Thu 23/08/2018 14:00–16:00


Turnitin

Talking about Turnitin

Mon 23/07/2018 10:00–11:00

Thu 09/08/2018 10:00–11:00 

Feedback and Marking in GradeMark

Mon 23/07/2018 11:00–12:00

Thu 09/08/2018 11:00–12:00

Moodle

Quick start to Moodle

No dates are currently scheduled, Please register your interest following the link above.

PUPSMD staff – Quick start to Moodle

No dates are currently scheduled, Please register your interest following the link above.

Distance Learning: getting started with Moodle eSubmission

ASTI offer an online course for academic staff who may not be able to attend our face to face sessions below.

Fri 13/07/2018 10:00–11:00

Wed 08/08/2018 14:00–15:00
Fri 20/07/2018 10:00–11:00

Mon 15/08/2018 14:00–15:00

Moodle quizzes

No dates are currently scheduled, Please register your interest following the link above.

More with Moodle

Tue 14/08/2018 10:00–12:00

Embedding PebblePad in the curriculum

No dates are currently scheduled, Please register your interest following the link above.

Podcasting

Introduction to Podcasting

Thu 12/07/2018 13:00–15:00 

Video and Media for Teaching

Using video in teaching

Fri 06/07/2018 11:00–13:00 

Finding open media online

Fri 10/08/2018 10:00–12:00 

Xerte Online Toolkits

This workshop is run 'on demand'. Please register your interest by email to asti@plymouth.ac.uk

Visit the Xerte Online Toolkits (XOT) support and guidance course on Moodle

Distance Learning

Introduction to Webinar

No dates are currently scheduled, Please register your interest following the link above.

Content Capture

Introduction to Content Capture

Numerous courses are available, please follow the link above to book a place

Tue 17/07/2018 9:00–10:00

Wed 29/08/2018 13:00–14:00

Editing Content with Panopto

Numerous courses are available, please follow the link above to book a place 

Tue 17/07/2018 10:00–11:00

Wed 29/08/2018 14:00–15:00

The what, the why and the which of flipped classroom teaching

Tue 17/07/2018 11:00–12:00

Wed 29/08/2018 15:00–16:00

Lynda.com - Online training videos

Lynda.com is a leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. Through individual, corporate, academic and government subscriptions, members have access to the lynda.com video library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognised industry experts.

For 20 years, Lynda.com has helped students, leaders, IT and design pros, project managers build software, creative, and business skills. Now part of Linkedin, Lynda.com serves more than 10,000 organisations.

Lynda.com is available to all University of Plymouth staff and students, please see our dedicated Lynda.com Portal for more information.

Webinars - Training at your desktop

How about attending an online training session at your desk or on your mobile device? To save you time, we deliver short topics online – no more than 60 minutes per session. These sessions are designed to give you ideas on how to use online tools with some instructions on how to use them. For example, using Moodle tools to create a tutorial schedule for your students or set conditions to release content automatically.

If you are interested in receiving training via webinar please contact asti@plymouth.ac.uk with details of the topic(s) required. Registration for the webinar is required and with each session we'll send a registration link which can also add an appointment to your calendar.

An audio headset is essential and a webcam is optional.