ASTI staff programme

Academic Support, Technology & Innovation (ASTI) run a broad range of sessions which support Plymouth University initiatives and enhance teaching with technology. These sessions can provide you with the digital skills and confidence. See our course listing below or our tagged events.

Last Updated: 22/06/2015

Please note that if courses are fully booked some dates below may not show up on the ESS when trying to book your place. 

Office 365

Office 365: Setting up a Plymouth University site

Fri 19/01/2018 09:30 - 12:00

Tue 23/01/2018 09:30 - 12:00

Tue 30/01/2018 13:30 - 16:00

Thu 08/02/2018 09.30 - 12.00

Thu 15/02/2018 13.30 - 16.00

Tue 20/02/2018 13.30 - 16.00

Wed 28/02/2018  09.30 - 12.00


Office 365: Using a Plymouth University site 

Thu 11/01/2018 09:30 - 11:30

Mon 15/01/2018 13:30 - 15:30

Thu 25/01/2018 09:30 - 11:30

Thu 01/02/2018 09.30 - 11.30

Fri 09/02/2018 09.30 - 11.30

Wed 14/02/2018 13.30 - 15.30

Thu 22/02/2018 13.30 - 15:30

Tue 27/02/2018 13.30 - 15.30


Office 365: Working with Skype for Business

Numerous courses are available, please follow the link above to book a place 

Wed 31/01/2018 14:00 - 16:00 

Thu 29/03/2018 10:00 - 12:00


Office 365: Introduction to OneDrive for Business

Numerous courses are available, please follow the link above to book a place.

Wed 10/01/2018 14:00 - 16:00

Fri 12/01/2018 10:00 - 12:00 

Tue 16/01/2018 14:00 - 16:00

Mon 22/01/2018 14:00 - 16:00

Thu 01/02/2018 14:00 - 16:00

Mon 12/02/2018 14:00 - 16:00

Fri 23/02/2018 10:00 - 12:00

Wed 07/03/2018 14:00 - 16:00

Tue 20/03/2018 14:00 - 16:00


Reviewing & Tracking Changes with Microsoft Office

No dates are currently scheduled, Please register your interest following the link above.


General

IT services for new staff

Thu 18/01/2018 14:00 - 16:00

Tue 13/02/2018 14:00 - 16:00

Fri 09/03/2018 10:00 - 12:00

Wed 11/04/2018 14:00 - 16:00

Mon 14/05/2018 14:00 - 16:00

Thu 21/06/2018 10:00 -12:00

 Microsoft Office 2010 - online

The following courses are available online at: http://lynda.plymouth.ac.uk/

Login with your university account


Word 2010

Essential training

Mail merge


Excel 2010

Essential training

Managing and analysing data

Charts in depth

Pivot tables in depth


PowerPoint 2010

Essential training

Up and running with PowerPoint 2010

Audio and video in depth



University Website CMS

Creating and publishing content

Wed 10/01/2018 10:00 - 12:00

Mon 05/02/2018 14:00 - 16:00

Mon 12/03/2018 14:00 - 16:00

Fri 27/04/2018 10:00 - 12:00

Thu 24/05/2018 10:00 - 12:00

Tue 26/06/2018 10:00 - 12:00

Thu 26/07/2018 14:00 - 16:00


TurnItIn

Talking about TurnItIn

Fri 26/01/2018 14:00 - 15:00

Wed 21/02/2018 10:00 - 11:00

Tue 20/03/2018 13:00 - 14:00

Mon 23/04/2018 13:00 - 14:00

Thu 24/05/2018 15:00 - 16:00

Fri 22/06/2018 10:00 - 11:00

Mon 23/07/2018 10:00 - 11:00

Thu 09/08/2018 10:00 - 11:00


Moodle

Quick start to Moodle

Fri 26/01/2018 10:00 - 12:00

Mon 26/02/2018 14:00 - 16:00

Thu 15/03/2018 10:00 - 12:00


PUPSMD staff – Quick start to Moodle

No dates are currently scheduled, Please register your interest following the link above.


Moodle eSubmission [part 1 & 2]: Set up, student view, marker allocation, marking and giving feedback

No dates are currently scheduled, Please register your interest following the link above.


Thu 18/01/2018 10:00 - 11:00

Wed 14/02/2018 14:00 - 15:00

Tue 07/03/2018 10:00 - 11:00

Fri 05/04/2018 10:00 - 11:00

Tue 15/05/2018 14:00 - 15:00

Mon 11/06/2018 10:00 - 11:00

Fri 13/07/2018 10:00 - 11:00

Wed 08/08/2018 14;00 - 15:00

Mon 29/01/2018 14:00 - 15:00

Fri 23/02/2018 10:00 - 11:00

Wed 21/03/2018 10:00 - 11:00

Thu 12/04/2018 10:00 - 11:00

Tue 22/05/2018 14:00 - 15:00

Mon 18/06/2018 10:00 - 11:00

Fri 20/07/2018 10:00 - 11:00

Mon 15/08/2018 14:00 - 15:00

Moodle quizzes

Thu 18/01/2018 13:00 - 15:00

Tue 20/03/2018 10:00 – 12:00

Fri 18/05/2018 10:00 – 12:00 322

Tue 10/07/2018 13:00 – 15:00 322


Moodle online webinar: Using conditional activities and timed release

Please follow the above hyperlink for course details, and register your interest by email asti@plymouth.ac.uk


More with Moodle

Tue 03/04/2018 10:00 - 12:00

Thu 07/06/2018 13:00 - 15:00

Tue 14/08/2018 10:00 - 12:00

Embedding PebblePad in the curriculum

No dates are currently scheduled, Please register your interest following the link above.


Podcasting

Introduction to Podcasting

Thu 11/01/2018 13:00 - 15:00

Fri 16t/03/2018 13:00 – 15:00

Wed 09/05/2018 10:00 – 12:00 

Thu 12/07/2018 13:00 – 15:00 


Video and Media for Teaching

Using video in teaching

Fri 12/01/2018 11:00 - 13:00

Tue 13/03/2018 11:00 - 13:00 

Thu 10/05/2018 11:00 - 13:00

Fri 06/07/2018 11:00 - 13:00


Finding open media online

Wed 07/02/2018 13:00 - 15:00

Tue 10/04/2018 13:00 – 15:00 

Thu 14t/06/2018 10:00 – 12:00 

Fri 10/08/2018 10:00 – 12:00 



Xerte Online Toolkits

This workshop is run 'on demand'. Please register your interest by email to asti@plymouth.ac.uk

Visit the Xerte Online Toolkits (XOT) support and guidance course on Moodle


Distance Learning

Introduction to Webinar

No dates are currently scheduled, Please register your interest following the link above.


Content Capture

Introduction to Content Capture

Numerous courses are available, please follow the link above to book a place

Fri 19/01/2018 09:00 - 10:00

Fri  16/02/2018 13:00 - 14:00

Tue 13/03/2018 13:00 - 14:00

Wed 18/04/2018 09:00 - 10:00

Mon 14/05/2018 13:00 - 14:00

Thu 21/06/2018 13:00 - 14:00

Tue 17/07/2018 09:00 - 10:00

Wed 29/08/2018 13:00 - 14:00

Editing Content with Panopto

Numerous courses are available, please follow the link above to book a place


Fri 19/01/2018 10:00 - 11:00

Fri 16/02/2018 14:00 - 15:00

Tue 13/03/2018 14:00 - 15:00

Wed 18/04/2018 10:00 - 11:00

Mon 14/05/2018 14:00 - 15:00

Thu 21/06/2018 14:00 - 15:00

Tue 17/07/2018 10:00 - 11:00

Wed 29/08/2018 14:00 - 15:00

The what, the why and the which of flipped classroom teaching

Fri 19/01/2018 11:00 - 12:00

Fri 16/02/2018 15:00 - 16:00

Tue 13/03/2018 15:00 - 16:00

Wed 18/04/2018 11:00 - 12:00

Mon 14/05/2018 15:00 - 16:00

Thu 21/06/2018 15:00 - 16:00

Tue 17/07/2018 11:00 - 12:00

Wed 29/08/2018 15:00 - 16:00


'Just One Thing' sessions

Our 'Just one thing' sessions are shorter and more focused than our traditional training workshops. These sessions are designed to provide information on specific elements of a Technology Enhanced Learning tool or practice, offering an efficient way for staff to learn how to utilise learning technology effectively.

One of the unique aspects of these sessions is the option to tailor them specifically to your own needs. We are keen to work with programme, module or subject groups to develop a bespoke session to support teaching and learning within your teams and would be happy to combine and adapt any of the listed sessions below. The team can also deliver these sessions at away days, lunches or other team based events to enhance and promote pedagogic engagement and activity.


Lynda.com - Online training videos

Lynda.com is a leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. Through individual, corporate, academic and government subscriptions, members have access to the lynda.com video library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognised industry experts.

For 20 years, Lynda.com has helped students, leaders, IT and design pros, project managers build software, creative, and business skills. Now part of Linkedin, Lynda.com serves more than 10,000 organisations.

Lynda.com is available to all Plymouth University staff and students, please see our dedicated Lynda.com Portal for more information.

Webinars - Training at your desktop

How about attending an online training session at your desk or on your mobile device? To save you time, we deliver short topics online – no more than 60 minutes per session. These sessions are designed to give you ideas on how to use online tools with some instructions on how to use them. For example, using Moodle tools to create a tutorial schedule for your students or set conditions to release content automatically.

If you are interested in receiving training via webinar please contact asti@plymouth.ac.uk with details of the topic(s) required. Registration for the webinar is required and with each session we'll send a registration link which can also add an appointment to your calendar.

An audio headset is essential and a webcam is optional.