Gala Concert
  • Theatre 1, Roland Levinsky Building, Plymouth University.

Save event
Ten Tors Orchestra

Simon Ible, Conductor

Eduardo Reck Miranda: Corpus Callosum

This composition stems from the composer’s longstanding fascination with the brain and the musical mind.

Corpus callosum is the part of the brain that connects the left and right hemispheres and facilitates communication between them. The ensemble is divided into two groups on the stage, one placed on the left side of the stage and the other on the right side. The group on the left side represents the left hemisphere of the brain, and the group on the right side represents the right hemisphere. The piece develops as a dialogue between these two realms. During the performance, a video by Norwegian video artist Ellen Røed accompanies the music with pictorial renderings of brain scanning data.

Alexis Kirke: Orchestral Processing Unit

This is a 15 minute performance by musicians who act as biological processing elements creating a computer whose calculations are done live by classical music.

The 'silicon chips' at the heart of our computers are made up of billions of metallic elements. Tiny electrical currents flow between these elements as processing is done. In Orchestral Processing Unit a simple 'musical chip' is created, replacing these metal elements with people. And rather than electrical currents, musical melodies are used to specify and do calculations live on stage.  It is a calculator embedded in a chamber orchestra, but not only can the audience hear, and see the calculations emerging in real-time, they can feel them.

Anandi Sala Casanova: The Hidden Sea

The Hidden Sea is a piece for string ensemble written in an exploration of organic minimalism, a concept that springs from Anandi’s love of minimalism and passion for nature. The mysterious and melancholic music was inspired by various experiences and memories of the Plymouth Hoe sea front: musical swells recall the waves and contrasting dynamic levels reflect both calm and agitated states of the sea.

The piece aims to make the music sound more natural and alive. As a result, the musicians and the listeners are able to follow a musical evolution while still having the experience of being suspended in time, an effect achieved by keeping certain elements of stasis throughout the composition.

Anandi is a young Catalan composer, born and raised in South India, who has recently graduated with a BA in Music at Plymouth University.

Linas Baltas: DNA

DNA is a new piece inspired by the structure of chromosomes in DNA. In this piece the composer puts into practice a composition method of his own devising whereby the geometric properties of DNA structures are translated into harmonic sequences.

Linas Baltas is a composer from Lithuania, currently based in Plymouth.

28 February 2015 | 19.30

Theatre 1, Roland Levinsky Building, Plymouth University.

Tickets £12.00, Free to Friends of Peninsula Arts and students
PFebruary 2015N
26 27 28 29 30 31 1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 1

Today's events

Event photography and video
Please be aware that some of the University of Plymouth's public events may be attended by University photographers and videographers, for capturing content to be used in University online and offline marketing and promotional materials, for example webpages, brochures or leaflets. If for whatever reason, you or a member of your group, do not wish to be photographed, please make yourself known to staff working at the event on arrival or to the photographer.