QTS skills tests

What are the Professional Skills Tests?

If you apply for any course leading to a teaching qualification in early years, primary or secondary education, you will have to take the Professional Skills Tests in Literacy and Numeracy before you can enrol on the course.  

 All current and prospective trainee teachers must pass the skills tests in numeracy and literacy before they can be recommended for the award of qualified teacher status (QTS).

The tests are required in addition to your mathematics and English GCSEs, and are designed to show that you have the basic levels of literacy and numeracy needed to teach to a national standard. They will not test your knowledge of the curriculum or how to teach.

When should I take the tests?

You should take the skills tests after applying for a teacher training course. You will need to achieve your skills test before 1 August. The skills tests are only valid for three years prior to registering for the course. You're only allowed three attempts at passing the test, after which you will have to wait two years before taking the test again.

Where can I take the tests?

To find an updated list of Skills Test centres, please visit the Department of Education website.

Literacy skills test resources

Use these resources to help you pass your QTS literacy skills test

Access resources

Numeracy skills test resources

Use these resources to help you pass your QTS numeracy skills test

Access resources