The Interreg programmes (European Territorial Cooperation programmes) are designed to promote cooperation between member states on shared challenges and opportunities to support the effective functioning of the single market. There are 107 programmes across Europe and 16 of them cover all or parts of the UK. Nine of these involve England, and these are overseen by the Department for Communities and Local Government (DCLG). DCLG’s statement about UK priorities says that:

‘Previous rounds of these programmes have not done enough to demonstrate the real impact of the money they have spent, and some poor-quality projects have been selected.

In the 2014 to 2020 programmes, we expect to see a much clearer link between the projects that are funded, and to wider economic growth policy. We expect projects to clearly articulate the need for investment, the ‘market failure’ they are addressing and the demand for their proposed solution. We expect to see projects that deliver meaningful outputs and results, with a ‘real world’ impact that will provide measurable benefits to people and businesses.’

Interreg programmes employ staff to support the generation of good project ideas and then to manage the projects chosen for delivery. Each programme has slightly different arrangements and requirements and there are more details in our overview documents (internal staff and students only).

The University of Plymouth has participated in the following programmes:

  • Atlantic Area (maximum co-financing rate of 75 per cent of the total project budget)
  • France (Channel) England (maximum co-financing rate of 69 per cent of the total project budget)
  • North West Europe (maximum co-financing rate of 60 per cent of the total project budget)
  • Two Seas (maximum co-financing rate of 60 per cent of the total project budget).
If you are interested in applying for Interreg funding, please contact Ewa Thompson ( in the Research and Commercialisation Office and check our FAQs (internal staff and students only).