Skip to main contentSkip to contextural navigationSkip to main navigationIf you are having problems using this page with a screen reader follow this link for a more compatible version
University of Plymouth home page
home†|† Help†|† contact us†|† sitemap†|† searchUniversity Logo

Plymouth International Book Festival 2013 - Readings & Talks

Readings and talks at Plymouth International Book Festival

Plymouth International Book Festival first ran in 2012, and was the first large scale celebration of international and UK writers that Plymouth has ever seen.

A literature festival with something for everyone to enjoy, the festival boasts a programme of readings, talks, poetry, workshops, demonstrations, music, film, and plays.


9 November 2013 to 10 November 2013
13.00

DATE: Saturday 9 November
VENUE: Plymouth Museum and Art Gallery    
TIME: 13.00
TICKETS: £4
ENQUIRIES: Box Office (buy tickets)
A must for fans of Pride and Prejudice, this talk examines the beautifully detailed character illustrations in John Dicksí 1887 edition of Jane Austenís Pride and Prejudice and looks at how they tell us much about how Austenís novel was read in the late 19th century when there was a huge rise in demand for affordable books.

Readers would sometimes have to wait for decades for an affordable edition of a book to be released following the first expensive edition only which only the rich, upper-classes could afford.

Dr Annika Bautz, author of The Reception of Jane Austen and Walter Scott: A Comparative Longitudinal Study and Readerís Guide to Essential Criticism of Jane Austenís Pride and Prejudice, Emma and Sense and Sensibility, and a Lecturer in Nineteenth-Century Literature at Plymouth University, researches Romantic and Victorian fiction and is an expert on the history of the book.